'Independent Community News Service of the Year'
Wales Media Awards 2016

Senghenydd RFC aiming to win Swalec Bowl at Millennium Stadium

Published in Sport on Monday May 2nd, 2011. Last updated at 10:17

Senghenydd RFC will be hoping to lift the Swalec Bowl on Monday as they take to the field against Maesteg at the Millennium Stadium.

Both sides are looking to complete the double this season. Maesteg Harlequins are currently unbeaten at the helm of Swalec League Four South West while Senghenydd top Swalec League Four East, with eighteen wins to their name this season.

Maesteg Harlequins came out on top when the two sides met recently but backs coach Robbie Morris is not taking anything for granted and is only too aware the threat Senghenydd pose.

He said: “The game against them recently was very physical and really tough.

“We know what they bring to the table and they are a big physical team.

“It’s a great feeling looking forward to the final and it is starting to feel real now. We just can’t wait for the whole town to get behind us and have a great day out.”

For Senghenydd the final is the biggest day in the club’s history according to head coach, former Caerphilly hooker Chris Ferris.

“There’s a huge interest in Senghenydd,” he said.

“It’s the biggest game of the club’s history and we’re all looking forward to the final.

“We’ll go into the match knowing how good they are as they beat us recently in the Silver Ball. We lost that 25-12 and know we will have to play extremely well to come away with a win as they play a good game of rugby.”

Senghenydd: Jonathan Watters; Michael Silcox, Robert Andrews, Gareth Miles, Michael Hunt; Dean Watkins, Alun Ford; Gareth Gibbs (Capt), Kieron Hughes, James Carmichael, Robert Bosley, Gareth Short, James Tamplin, Dewi Smith, John Griffiths

Replacements: Damian Duffy, Corey Gardner, Robert Channon, Tomos Andrews, Hywel Griffiths, Darren Johns, Ryan Nicholls

Maesteg Quins: Geraint Evans; Andrew Leighton, Robbie Morris, Rhodri Milsom, Nathan Morgan; Gareth Lewis (capt), Lee Ronan; Daniel Tabor, Dcean Ronan, Richard Teesdale, Carl Roberts, Daniel Hughes, Ross Powell, Matthew Tidball, Andrew Healy

Replacements: Craig Hopkins, Christian Cody, Morgan David, Rhodri Roberts, Rhys Bevan, Ryan Lovett, Owen Richards

Have your say below
Have your say below
Related Links